News - New health measures for air travel to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg


Given the evolution of the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus at the international level and the circulation of mutated strains of the SARS-CoV-2 virus whose transmissibility appears to be higher, and which therefore exposes the population to an increased risk of infection, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and the Ministry of Health would like to inform you about the new health measures applicable from 29 January 2021 until 28 February 2021 included, for any travel by air to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

Anyone, regardless of nationality, aged 6 or over, wishing to travel by air to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, must present upon boarding the negative result (on paper or electronic document) of a test that detects SARS-CoV-2 nucleic acid, or of a rapid antigen test, performed up to 72 hours before the flight. The negative test result must be presented, if necessary, accompanied by a translation, in one of the administrative languages ​​of Luxembourg or in English. All departures to Luxembourg are therefore concerned, including those from Member states of the European Union or the Schengen area.

In addition, any person traveling by air from a third country, that is a country that is not a member of the European Union or the Schengen area, will have to undergo an additional rapid antigen test upon arrival at Luxembourg airport. In case of refusal to undergo this test, the person will remain in quarantine for a period of 14 days. This quarantine can end at any time, upon obtaining a negative test result.

It should be noted that the obligation to present a negative test result upon boarding and to undergo an additional test upon arrival also applies to persons residing in one of the countries on the list of third countries whose residents are currently allowed to enter Luxembourg, including for non-essential travel, namely Australia, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, and Thailand.

Are exempt from these obligations:
- People on duty employed in the transport sector and passengers in transit at the airport;

- People who make a round trip by air, for less than 72 hours, from the Grand Duchy to a country which is a member of the Schengen area or of the European Union, on condition that they have not left the Schengen area or the territory of the EU Member States during this period;

- Members of the diplomatic corps, staff of international organizations and persons invited by these international organizations whose physical presence is required for the proper functioning of these organizations, military personnel, personnel in the field of development cooperation and humanitarian aid, and civil protection personnel in the exercise of their respective functions, on condition that their stay in Luxembourg does not exceed 72 hours;

- People who have suffered a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 3 months before their travel and who have completed the applicable isolation period in the respective country with disappearance of all symptoms of infection. These people can present a medical certificate attesting to these facts, which allows them to embark for Luxembourg without undergoing a new PCR or antigen test.

The testing obligations applicable to all persons wishing to enter Luxembourg from a third state are in addition to the temporary restrictions already in place for non-essential travel to the EU. As a reminder, third country nationals from a third country can no longer enter the territory of the Grand Duchy until 31 March 2021 included, except for certain categories of exempt persons. The details of these restrictions are available on the following website: https://covid19.public.lu/fr/voyageurs/visiter-luxembourg.html

Press release by the Ministry of Health / Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs